Jack Daniel’s Bread Pudding.

I LOVE THIS BREAD PUDDING. I didn’t even know that I loved bread pudding until my older sister, Jenn, made this for me a couple of years ago. I’m pretty sure, actually, that my opinion before that first taste was something along the lines of, “eww gross, who eats soggy bread for dessert?” And then I fell in love…I eat soggy bread for dessert. And I love every bite of it. Now, here’s the real kicker. Kelvin likes it. Kelvin, who doesn’t eat chocolate, who I have to force feed most desserts, who asks for a vanilla ice cream at the ice cream shop, likes it. Are you impressed yet? Yah, me too.

Do not skip the Jack Daniel’s cream sauce that goes over the top (I actually cut it in half from the original recipe). It seems excessive and redundant I know, but it isn’t. That hint of whiskey is such a good little flavor. And we aren’t exactly counting calories when we eat this dessert…at least, I’m not (and you probably shouldn’t either). So pour it on with a heavy hand, and then try and resist pulling off a little piece of the leftovers every time you walk through the kitchen. Those bite size pieces just scream “eat me.” You’ll see.

DSC_0056

JACK DANIEL’S BREAD PUDDING

|Ingredients|

  • 2 eggs
  • 2 Tbsp melted butter
  • 2 Tbsp vanilla
  • 2 1/2 C milk
  • 2 C sugar
  • 3 1/2 C – 5 C sourdough or french bread, cut into 1 inch cubes

Whiskey Cream Sauce:

  • 1/4 C sugar
  • 1/2 stick butter
  • 1/4 C cream
  • 1/8 C Jack Daniel’s

|Instructions|

1. Preheat the oven to 325 degrees. Slice bread into 1 inch cubes, keeping crusts on bread.

2. In a mixing bowl, beat together eggs, butter, vanilla and milk. Then add in the sugar and mix until dissolved. You can do this by hand with a whisk or with a mixer.

3. Arrange bread cubes in a 9 inch baking dish, keeping the crust facing up around the edges as well as scattered throughout the dish. Pour the liquid over the bread pieces, being sure to spread it throughout. It may seem like the bread is drowning, but that is okay. Pour it all in!

4. Place pan in the oven and bake for 55-70 minutes, until the top and edges appear a crispy golden brown.

5. While the pudding is cooking, make your whiskey cream sauce. Combine all ingredients in a saucepan. Stir constantly over low heat until mixture reaches a low boil. Pour a small amount over the individual servings of bread pudding.

6. Store the leftovers separately in the fridge. And try not to pop a cube into your mouth every time you open your fridge for something.

I have made this with gluten free bread for a friend, and it was still awesome. And you want to know a secret? This last batch I made came from left over hot dog buns from my birthday BBQ. What? It happens. I knew Kelvin wouldn’t care and I was being frugal. I have also baked this in a bread pan, which just yielded  taller thicker servings but still turned out great. 

Adapted From: The Pioneer Woman

And here’s the birthday boy making a wish over his bread pudding. I think he was wishing for perfect weather on our wedding day.DSC_0059 (2)

2 thoughts on “Jack Daniel’s Bread Pudding.

What Do You Think?

