Black Bean Burgers.

The friend that I mention quite often, Elizabeth from Peonies and Poms, wildly recommended these black bean burgers a few weeks back, and since I usually subsist largely on black beans, corn, bananas, apples, and peanut butter when I am on my own, I figured I’d better give them a shot. And then I said “yay.” Because they were good. And easy. And I totally didn’t have what I needed for them, but I got creative and they still worked. Even after I lowered my standards a little. Because 5 minutes in, I realized that I really didn’t have a whole lot of anything that the recipe called for. So I started substituting for whatever WAS in my fridge.  It was truly a concentrated effort to not go to the store. Impressive, really. “Why” you ask? Because I was in the middle of 4 straight nights at work delivery screaming babies from the abyss of a woman’s…just kidding. The work part is true, but I am not going to go THERE. I do have some limits.

Anyway, I digress. A lot. These burgers really were great, even with the substitutions and cancellations that I ended up making. And next time I make them (my cupboard has impressive amounts of black beans and chickpeas right now, so they’re on the menu), I’ll probably actually eat them on a nice whole wheat bun. And I definitely want to add an aioli, like this Sriracha one from Brokeass Gourmet. But then I’ll probably have to go to the store…so maybe not.

DSC_0015

BLACK BEAN BURGERS

Yield: 3 burger patties

|Ingredients|

  • 1/3  C panko
  • 2 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1 can black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 2 slices turkey bacon, cooked crisp and chopped
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • Pinch of cayenne (1/8 tsp if you own that measure)
  • 1/2 jalepeno, seeded and diced fine
  • 1/4 C sweet white onion, diced fine
  • Burger toppings –> I did sharp cheddar cheese, avocado, green leaf lettuce, caramelized onions, and BBQ.  And the bun MUST be toasted.

|Instructions|

1. Place a skillet on the stove over medium high heat. Stir the 1/3 C of panko together with about 2 tsp of olive oil, mixing well. Add the mixture to the heated skillet and toast until the panko browns, about 2-3 minutes. Stir frequently, so it doesn’t burn. (This happens quickly, as personal experience has proven). Remove from heat and set aside to cool. Add a tsp or so of olive oil to the empty pan and toss in the diced jalepenos and onions. Saute these over medium heat until soft, 3-4 minutes or so. Set aside when finished.

2. Place a heaping cup of the black beans into a mixing bowl (retain the rest, you will use them) and mash them up as best as you can. I used a fork, but a potato masher would have been handy. You want the beans mostly broken up, as you will add in the the extra whole beans later. Stir in the chopped turkey bacon.

3. In a separate bowl, combine the egg, 2 tsp of olive oil, cumin, salt and cayenne. Whisk to blend. Add the egg mixture to the large bowl of mashed beans and turkey bacon, also adding the remaining 1/2 C of whole beans, the toasted panko, and the sauteed veggies. Stir together until evenly combined.

4. Divide the mixture into 3 equal portions –> they will be about 1/2 C each. Using your hands, lightly pack the portions into 1 inch thick patties. Yes, the patties look pretty similar before and after cooking. That’s okay.

DSC_00075. In a large skillet, heat 2 tsp of olive oil over medium heat. Let the oil heat! Lay the patties into the pan carefully (I used a pancake flipper because they are a little messy at this point). Cook until well browned and a little bit crispy on both sides, about 5 minutes per side. Be patient when you first put the patties on the skillet, giving them a couple of minutes to firm up before trying to flip them. You’ll be glad that you did.

6. Serve while warm, with the toppings of your choice.

WW Points: 5 points/patty

What Do You Think?

