Banana Oatmeal Peanut Butter Muffins

With chocolate chips. The title, really, should be Banana Oatmeal Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Muffins. But that’s a mouthful (<– bahaha, I’m hilarious). So I cut out the chocolate chips from the title. I did NOT, however, cut out the chocolate chips from the muffins. Because they are necessary. As all chocolate always is.

These muffins are awesome. And take minimal ingredients, which is always a plus. And have no flour or oil. Even better, right? I don’t have a whole lot in my cupboards lately, but I always have peanut butter and oatmeal, with some bananas on the counter. So a week or so ago I decided to get creative and see what I could come up with, mixing different recipes and ingredients. And I surprised myself, truly. The recipes also yields 15 muffins, which is way more than I need at one time, so I simply wrapped them up individually and threw them in the freezer. Now I just grab one and pop it in the microwave whenever I am headed out the door and it’s perfect. Of course, you don’t have to reheat them…but then the chocolate chips aren’t all melty and warm. And that’s a waste.

DSC_0031

BANANA OATMEAL PEANUT BUTTER CHOCOLATE CHIP MUFFINS

Yield: 15 muffins

|Ingredients|

  • 3 medium ripe bananas
  • 3 cups uncooked traditional oatmeal
  • 1/2 C packed brown sugar
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 C fat free free milk
  • 1/3 C creamy peanut butter
  • 3 tbsp chocolate chips

|Instructions|

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. In a small mixing bowl peel and mash your bananas. Set to the side.

2. In a large mixing bowl, stir together the oatmeal, brown sugar, baking powder and baking soda.

3. Blend in the 2 eggs and the milk, being sure to scrape the sides and the bottom of the bowl. Blend in the peanut butter.

4. Gently fold in the bananas and the chocolate chips, being sure to stir until well combined.

5. Fill the cupcake tins (I recommend using liners) about 2/3 full. If you want, you may fill them a little more and change the yield to a dozen muffins.

6. Bake at 350 for 20-25 minutes, until toothpick inserted in the muffins comes out clean.

WW Points:

– Yield 15: 4 points

– Yield 12: 5 points

Truly, you can omit the peanut butter and/or the chocolate chips to make these recipes more WW friendly. But, I think the extra flavors are worth the extra point. Always.

 

3 thoughts on “Banana Oatmeal Peanut Butter Muffins

What Do You Think?

