Italian Pasta Salad.

Pasta salad. We’ve all made it, most of us love it, and pretty much every BBQ or potluck you go to has at least 3 of them. On Memorial Day, I volunteered to bring a side dish to a BBQ, and automatically I began perusing pasta salads online. They’re just so easy, relatively cheap to make, and you can throw just about anything into them and call it good. And they’re easy to make gluten free, as I had promised a friend that I would make something that she could eat. Really though, I had some left over cheese tortellinis in my fridge, and everyone knows that it would be a tragedy if those went to waste, so pasta salad it was going to be.

So…I found about 3 different recipes, went shopping and picked out anything I thought may be good in there, and threw it all in. The result was better than I had hoped for. And it was pretty salad too. Because I know that when I go through the buffet line, presentation matters. No one ever wants the mystery casserole.

Italian Pasta Salad

ITALIAN PASTA SALAD

Serves: 12

|Ingredients|

  • 12 oz gluten free penne
  • 50 slices of turkey pepperoni, chopped
  • 2 green onions, chopped
  • 1/2 C cherry tomatoes, halved
  • 1 3.8 oz can sliced black olives, drained
  • 6 oz reduced-fat Feta cheese
  • 6-10 oz fat-free Italian dressing
  • 2 oz grated parmesan cheese, fresh
  • Black pepper, to taste

|Instructions|

1. Cook pasta according to package directions and set aside to cool.

2. Chop the turkey pepperoni, the green onions, and halve the tomatoes.

3. In a large bowl, combine the pasta, pepperoni, green onions, tomatoes, olives, and feta cheese. Stir well to combine. Fold in the salad dressing and crushed black pepper, stirring well to coat. I stirred in my extra cheese tortellinis here as well…like I said, tragedy if those went to waste.

4. Let the pasta salad sit in the fridge for at least an hour, 2-3 is better. Before serving, you may need to stir in some additional dressing, as the pasta will absorb a lot of it. Sprinkle with the fresh parmesan cheese before serving.

WW Points: 5

One thought on “Italian Pasta Salad.

What Do You Think?

