BBQ Chicken & Bacon Pasta.

On Sunday morning, I ran  my first half marathon…which is great. And I’ll get back to that later. But, on Saturday night, I carb loaded. Which means I absolutely devoured this new recipe that I discovered for BBQ Chicken & Bacon Pasta (comfort food at it’s finest), without one thought about my butt, my upcoming bachelorette weekend (aka…bikini season), or my wedding. Because let’s be honest…the best part about any form of exercise is the food that you get to eat before or after.

With that being said, this pasta was absolutely something that I will make again. I looooove BBQ sauce. On almost anything. My cupboards are still largely bare since moving into my new house, so Saturday afternoon I dug around in my fridge trying to get creative (I failed).  Naturally, I reverted to the internet, trying to find a recipe that I could make without having to grocery shop. And then I found this recipe. Which met all my criteria, 1. Carbs, 2. Protein, 3. Easy, 4. BBQ sauce (<– one of the only condiments in my fridge). I loved it. Kelvin loved it. And I will eat it again, carb loading or not.

DSC_0003

BBQ CHICKEN & BACON PASTA

Adapted from Cassie Craves

Yield: 6-8 servings

|Ingredients|

– 12 oz penne or other short pasta

– 4-6 slices bacon, cooked crisp and chopped

– 2 boneless skinless chicken breasts, cut into bite-size chunks

– 1/2 red onion, diced

– Salt and pepper to taste

– Ground red pepperred pepper flakes to taste

– 1/2 cup barbecue sauce

– 1/2 cup sour cream

– 1/4 – 1/2 cup milk

– 1/2 cup shredded mozzarella cheese

– 1/2 cup shredded sharp cheddar cheese

– Bacon, avocado, and shredded cheese for garnish

|Directions|

1. Start your pasta water boiling. Cook according to package directions, strain, and set aside.

2. In a large skillet, pan fry your bacon over medium heat, until the bacon is crisp. Using a fork or slotted spoon, remove the bacon and place it on a paper towel to absorb the grease. Chop the bacon, reserving some for garnish.

3. Add the chicken and red onion to the pan…leaving some or all of the bacon grease behind. (I know…I can’t believe I did this either).  Season with salt, pepper, and red pepper flakes or powder. Stir to combine. Cook until the chicken is browned and the red onions soften up. Stir in your reserved bacon, BBQ sauce and sour cream. Stir in the cheeses until melted. Once combined well, stir in the milk. I didn’t measure, but added until I felt there was enough liquid to fully coat the pasta. Stir in the reserved pasta,

4. Serve immediately, garnishing with reserved bacon, cheddar cheese, and avocado pieces.

WW Points

Serves 6: 11 points (+ 2 for avocado garnish)

Serves 8: 8 points

To reduce the WW points, you can sub whole wheat pasta for regular pasta, eliminate the bacon, and/or reduce/eliminate the cheese.

What Do You Think?

