Ham & Potato Soup

If you are like me and my sister Jenn, then you just can’t stand the idea of paying $7-$12 a day for a lunch while you are working. I think I speak for both of us when I say that we both just find that expense crazy, when there are always perfectly good leftovers in the fridge. My sister is AMAZING when it comes to the way she prepares and plans her family’s meals each week. She menu plans each weekend, shops on Sundays, and often makes one extra pot or casserole of something to freeze in easy lunch-sized portions. Leftovers from their meals each night are also frozen for future lunches. She’s my meal hero, seriously.

Now that her and I live together, I would like to think that I make it even easier for her to cook and plan meals. I, like her, love to be in the kitchen, so I have gladly taken on the task of cooking for us once or twice a week, as well as contributing to the lunch time smorgasbord in the freezer. This week my contribution was a pot of ham and potato soup, adapted from a recipe from The Girl Who Ate Everything. I’ve made this recipe a couple times now, and I have yet to find person who doesn’t enjoy a hot bowl. And of course, Fall is creeping towards us in Colorado, so good soup recipes are going to be a staple for the next few month. Enjoy!

Ham & Potato Soup

{Ingredients}

3 1/2 C of peeled and diced potatoes (I used 3 Russets)

1/3 C chopped white onion

1/2 C chopped carrot

1 C of diced ham (a ham steak from the deli section works great!)

4 C low-sodium chicken broth

1/2 C frozen yellow corn

1/2 tsp salt, or to taste

1 tsp black or white pepper, or to taste

5 Tbsp butter, unsalted

5 Tbsp all-purpose flour

2 C milk (I used 1% and it worked fine)

Crumbled bacon, cheddar cheese or sour cream for topping

{Instructions}

Combine the potatoes, onion, carrots, ham and chicken broth in a large stockpot. Bring to a boil and the cook over medium heat until potatoes are tender, likely about 10-15 minutes. Stir in the salt, pepper, and frozen corn until heated through.

In a separate small saucepan, melt butter over medium heat. Slowly whisk in flour and cook, stirring constantly until mixture is thick, about one minute. Slowly whisk in your milk (watch for clumps!), until all of the milk has been added. Continuing stirring over medium-low heat until you see the mixture begin to thicken up, about 3-5 minutes.

Add the milk mixture into the large stockpot, cooking mixture over medium heat until well combined and heated through.

Serve, topped with bacon, cheddar cheese, sour cream, or chives.

I made this last night and portioned it out into 7 1-1 1/2 C sized lunch portions. The yield for a dinner meal would likely be about 6 good-sized bowls.

What Do You Think?

