Moving Out & Moving On.

Yesterday, I said goodbye to the home that I have lived in for the past two years of my life. It’s such a strange feeling to rent a place and then leave it, as it is where you create memory after memory for so long. Then someone else moves in to do the same thing, and the home that you made yours becomes just one in the long list of places you lived at in your twenties. Someday, I’ll drive by only to say “I lived there once.”

Luckily, it is usually the natural progression that moving out also means moving on. I think that is the reason why it is often so easy to say goodbye to the memories that were, in anticipation of the ones that will be. To be honest, that is exactly how I feel right now. Yes, there was a twinge of sadness as I drove away for the last time, but even more so, I feel as if I am finally making clear and definite steps toward the next stage of my life, a stage in which all of the things that I have planned on or dreamed about for so long just may come true. Anticipation > Sadness, definitely!

I presently have one quarter of school left, which begins tomorrow. And as much as I love being on break, I say “Bring it on!” The sooner I start, the sooner it will be completed. Yes, please! Unfortunately, I am also in the midst of a crazy period of “vagabond-ness,” living between my parents’ home in Anacortes, a friend’s home in Shoreline, and trying to go to school, work and clinicals in Seattle. For the next 8 weeks I am going to be logging a lot of miles on my car, living out of bag, and eating a whole lot of sack lunches! (<– Luckily, I LIKE the sack lunches part!). But, I also keep telling myself that “I can do anything for 10 weeks.” It’s how I’ve moved through each quarter of school, and I have been successful so far, right? As always, my life feels like a whirlwind of hospitals, exams, boxed lunches, and laundry. But all the while, I am spinning towards graduation, summer, and my baby sister’s wedding. Who wouldn’t be excited with such good things in store?

“For I know the plans I have for you,” says the Lord.

“They are plans for good and not for disaster,

to give you a future and a hope.”

– Jeremiah 29:11 –

Before the move-in, painting with the boy.

2 thoughts on “Moving Out & Moving On.

  1. Good thoughts on saying goodbye to old memories in anticipation of new ones. Some moves are far more bittersweet that others, I had no tears over leaving California, but I no doubt will cry buckets when we someday leave Colorado. To me this was out first house as a couple, and the memories here are so sweet!

    Like

What Do You Think?

