Banana Bread Oatmeal

I LOVE oatmeal. Like eat it every day, have it for a snack, stock up in case it runs out, put it in all my cookies, love oatmeal. I love banana bread too, particularly with swirls of peanut butter and/or Nutella (preferably both). Unfortunately, banana bread doesn’t pack quite the nutritional punch that a hearty ole’ bowl of oatmeal does. And rarely can I stop at one piece, which means I have to run extra miles that day. Which is not that fun. Then one day I stumbled across this recipe and one of my breakfast fantasies was fulfilled, as banana bread and oatmeal were melded into a nutritional AND delicious combination. One bite and I was hooked. Oatmeal that literally tastes like banana bread? Pinch me now.

BANANA BREAD OATMEAL

{Ingredients}

– 3/4 C smashed bananas (about 2 medium bananas)

– 1/4 C brown sugar

– 1 large egg

– 1/4 tsp salt

– 1/4 tsp vanilla

– 1/4 tsp baking powder

– 1/4 tsp baking soda

– 1 C milk

– 1 1/4 C old-fashioned oats

– 1/8 tsp cinnamon

– Sprinkle of nutmeg

– 1/4 chopped walnuts (I omitted these)

{Directions}

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Spray the inside of a baking dish (8×8 or smaller (baking times are for an 8×8)) and set aside.

Mash the bananas with a fork in a medium sized mixing bowl. Measure to make sure you have close to the amount you need. Whisk the bananas together with the brown sugar, egg, salt, vanilla, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, and nutmeg. Slowly whisk in the milk and the oatmeal. If you want the walnuts, chop them up and stir them in as well.

Pour mixture into the prepared baking pan. Cover with aluminum foil and bake for 20 minutes. Remove the aluminum foil and bake an additional 10-15 minutes, until the edges are slightly golden or the center is solid.

You can eat this cold or serve it warm. My dad likes to add some milk. Cover any leftovers tightly and store them in the fridge. As the bananas oxidize in the fridge the oatmeal may start to turn gray, but I promise it will still taste great a day or two later!

*When Lent is over and I permit myself to eat sweets again, you’d better believe I will be adding chocolate chips to this recipe too.

SOURCE: Recipe and photo from Budget Bytes.

One thought on “Banana Bread Oatmeal

What Do You Think?

