Long Distance.

Absence makes the heart grow fonder…right? Don’t you just love the cheesy sayings in life that are actually true? Kelvin and I have been doing long distance for one year now. And while I fully recognize that some couples do it for years, I think I was ready for it to be over after about two weeks! However, I am now a firm believer in the idea that absence really does make the heart grow both fonder AND more grateful for the time we do have with the people we love.

This last weekend I got a visit from my man…a sweet, simple, perfect little weekend. We got to ride the ferry, we spent one-on-one time with my parents, we biked until our butts hurt (which really only took about 4 minutes), and we shared a perfect dinner for two at Adrift. In the midst of it all, I couldn’t help but continuously reflect on how thankful I am that the distance between us has made me constantly consider and recognize all of the reasons we have chosen to stick it out and make it work. It is so easy to fall into the monotony of day-to-day life, where we quickly forget why we love our partner, our kids, our friends. The “I love yous” that we share with each other become our routine instead of a genuine reflection of the way we feel. Yet when miles separate those relationships, when it takes work and extra effort to maintain them, one MUST know why they love someone, and those reasons must be greater than the difficulties that distance creates.

Really, I think I am just grateful that the distance life has placed between me and Kelvin has forced me to continually acknowledge all of the reasons that I want to be with him. And the few days that we get to spend together every few months are always the sweetest affirmation that the occasional tears, fights, and uncertainties are and will be worth it in the end.

What Do You Think?

